Submissions Are Closed

The IAFOR Vladimir Devidé Haiku Award is an open competition for previously unpublished haiku written in the English language. The award is for haiku regardless of whether in the traditional or modern style; it transcends haiku divisions and is based only on literary merit.

The award was founded by His Excellency Dr Drago Štambuk, Croatian Ambassador to Japan (2005–2010), then Ambassador to Brazil, and Dr Joseph Haldane, Chairman of The International Academic Forum (IAFOR). It is judged by Dr Štambuk, and is organised by IAFOR and The Asian Conference on Arts & Humanities, (ACAH), with the kind support of the Haiku International Association (HIA), the Haiku UNESCO Promotion Council and The Haiku Foundation.

The 2017 Grand Prize Winner

among the debris
the cell phone screen
lights up
Manos Kounougakis, Greece

Guest Judge 1st Choice:
“History, Story, Narrative”

still amazed
I found her
John Hawk, USA

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on TumblrEmail this to someoneShare on Reddit